The Books I Read in April 2024

A reread, a series ending and a series beginning, plus a few standalones. I didn’t quite read as much as I wanted (and have a few almost-finished books now) but I am happy with those I did read. I think my favourite book of the month is A Psalm for the Wild-Built, which was a short, thought-provoking, cosy sci-fi that I have just wanted to read again since finishing.

Audiobook

Pandora by Susan Stokes-Chapman (narrated by Olivia Vinall) – 3.5/5

The City & The City by China Mieville (narrated by John Lee) – 4/5

The Killing Moon by N.K. Jemisin (narrated by Sarah Zimmerman) – 3.5/5

Hardback

A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers – 4.5/5

Silver Nitrate by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – 4/5

Paperback

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson – 4.5/5

Going into May, I’m currently reading Underland by Robert Macfarlane and The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery as well as listening to The Mask Falling by Samantha Shannon. My broad goal is to finish 10 books, although given the trend so far this year, that may be a little of a stretch. Some cosy reading evenings are definitely in order.

Leave a comment