Writing Wednesday: Writing Supplies

Last week, I talked about my plan to gradually get back into writing, to get back into the various projects I have started, as well as begin new ones which spark in my brain. Creativity feeds creativity, so the small steps I am making now should hopefully transform into giant leaps in the future.

However, as many a writer knows, part of being a writer is having great supplies (maybe that should be as every stationary lover knows instead…). In this blog post, I’m going to talk about the various supplies I use for writing purposes.

The first, and main, piece of equipment, is my laptop. This is where I write, where I edit and where I store information. It really helps having things in one place where I can just search for what I need and it is a lot easier to edit on a laptop than on paper. The words are clearer to read and, if I make a change later on, it is so much easier to go back and edit it elsewhere in the novel. Once I’ve started planning a novel, I start moving it onto the laptop so I can work on it in a more structured, clean format.

Brainstorming, however, is more easily done by hand. There is something freeing about writing by hand; I think the act of forming the words yourself, in any shape, size or position, rather than relying on the limited array of typefaces available on a laptop, really helps unleash creative thought. I own a number of notebooks as a result, trying to keep to one per project (although generally spreading over to countless other notebooks). In these, I scribble down any random thoughts I have, an inspiration, and lines, scenes or dialogue which strikes my fancy. While I do try and keep a structure in notebooks where the brainstorming has progresses into a fully-fledged story, that can feel quite limiting at times, so I’m still working out what works best for me. Regardless, notebooks are an integral part of my writing process.  

As well as notebooks, I also tend to use sketchbooks. I am quite a visual person so it often helps to try and draw out the image I have in my head before translating it into words. This is particularly true for characters. I find it so helpful to draw out characters in my stories; it lets me explore their personalities as well as setting their features in stone for future reference.

Finally, of course, you can’t have a notebook or sketchbook without pens or pencils. While it is very easy to work with just one and never have to change it, I do tend to vary it. I have different pencils for different things (writing, drawing, colouring) and I also like to work in one coloured ink for a section of writing, and then switching to another one if I swap to work on something different. Of course, it does get to the point sometimes where I have so many pens scattered everywhere, that I just have to grab the nearest one.

So, there we have it, those are the main supplies I use when writing (mainly it’s just a lot of stationary – any excuse to buy some). Let me know what supplies you use!

Leave a Reply

