The Books I Read in June 2017

June was a much better reading month than May and I ended up surprising myself with the books I read. While there was a lot of fantasy, it varied from high fantasy to more dystopian novels with non-fiction interspersed throughout. The books I read are all listed below.

For reference, the way I rate is as follows:

1-Unable to Finish ; 2-Did not enjoy ; 3-Liked ; 4-Really Liked ; 5-Loved

Paperback

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab – 4/5

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman- 3.5/5

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula Le Guin – 3.5/5

Jack the Ripper, the Works of Francis Thompson by Richard Patterson – 3/5 (review)

The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig – 4.5/5

Kindle

Godlind by Anna Stephens – 4.5/5 (Review)

Audiobook

Work in Progress by Michael Eisner and Tony Schwartz – 3/5

It was also a very paperback-heavy month as I tried to focus on reading the books on my to-read bookcase. From some vantage, I was successful but from others, well, I’ve now had to make that bookcase double-backed. I also would have read more had I not had trouble with audible cloud player – for a long time the player could not get past the buffering point; this issue now appears to have been resolved so, hopefully, I’ll get a chance to listen to some more audiobooks in future.

As it is, I have gone into July with two books on the go: The Map of Bones by Francesca Haig (sequel to The Fire Sermon) and Just Kids, written and read by Patti Smith.

Leave a Reply

