The Books I Read in May 2017

May was a pretty dreadful reading month for me – I found myself in one of the largest reading slumps I have been in for a while and just not in the mood to read. As a result, I only managed to read three books in May.

There are two reasons for this slump and both of them are the books I read. The first of these, American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis, as the one that was particularly instrumental in removing my desire to read. It took all my power to actually finish reading this book and is the one book that has actually made me really question my resolve to finish every book I pick up, regardless of quality. Essentially, I just found this book insanely dull and could not see the point of it. The book itself alternates between incredibly materialistic descriptions which exemplify Bateman’s obsession with wealth and status, and very vivid descriptions of the torture and murders of all Bateman’s victims. While the latter should have, at least, held some interest, there was no substance to it at all and just came across as an attempt to shock. It did not help that I actually listened to it as an audiobook and, while the narrator was part of the reason I was able to keep going with this novel, it is unlikely to be a book I will ever read again. That being said, I am tempted to watch the film and see how that takes the book and converts to a visual format.

The second book which contributed to the slump was How to be a Productivity Ninja by Graham Allcott. It is slightly ironic that a book about productivity stopped me being as productive with my reading, but there are, again, to reasons for this. This first is that this book is non-fiction. It always takes me longer to read non-fiction and this book, in particular, took about three weeks to read. The second is that this book contains exercises and methods to include productivity so, while reading, I found myself more interested in putting the methods into practice and working through the book than reading other books as well. That being said, while it did get in the way of my reading, I do highly recommend this book if you want to get on top of work and life and reduce any related stress. It is easy to read and reads as something that is just there to help and guide rather than instruct.

Towards the end of the month, I started to get out of the reading slump and started and finished my favourite book of the month. Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh is a young adult fantasy novel about the daughter of a samurai who, undercover, joins the people who tried to kill her in order to find out why and restore honour to her family (there are a lot of Mulan parallels as well). In the end, I finished this book and instantly wanted to pick it up again (I still do). For a longer review of this book, click here.

It was a fairly mixed month of reading, although I am feeling a little bit more confident about this month’s reading – not least because I have started reading Godblind by Anna Stephens and am loving it so far. Fingers crossed I will be able to read and enjoy a lot more books in June!

In summary, the books I did read in May are below with their ratings. For reference, the way I rate is as follows:

1-Unable to Finish ; 2-Did not enjoy ; 3-Liked ; 4-Really Liked ; 5-Loved

American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis – 2/5

How to be a Productivity Ninja by Graham Allcott- 4/5

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh – 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

