The books I read in January 2017

The first month of 2017 has been a little bit of a mixed bag in terms of reading. There was at least a week where I did not read a work, I just ended up in a reading slump with hardly any inclination to read. Fortunately, that slump was overcome and I managed to get back to reading full force in the last two weeks. I also read a good mix of books, from non-fiction to contemporary, fantasy to true fiction. This puts me on track for my 2017 Q1 goal of reading a greater variety of books, and it makes reading all the more enjoyable in the process.

Here are the books I read in January. As ever, for reference, the way I rate is as follows:

1-Unable to Finish ; 2-Did not enjoy ; 3-Liked ; 4-Really Liked ; 5-Loved

 

Paperback

Uprooted by Naomi Novik – 4.5/5

Frostblood by Elly Blake – 3.5/5

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – 3/5

So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed by Jon Ronson – 3.5/5

 

Hardback

The Ladybird Book of the Meeting by J.A. Hazeley and J.P Morris – 3/5

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – 4/5

 

Audiobook

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – 5/5

A Very English Scandal by John Preston – 3/5

 

As you can see, I read (and listened to) a total of 8 books in January. For the first time, there are no ebooks on the list and that’s simply because I’ve not been in the mood to read my kindle. I’m hoping to get to the books I’ve got waiting for me on there in February, but on the whole I’m going to treat February like I did January and just read the books I’ve been in the mood for reading. That is, with a slight bias towards the review books I have lined up. I already have a good mix of books that I am currently reading and am planning on continuing this trend in the coming months.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

