The Books I Read In December

I went into December after two months littered with reading slumps, and I was not really sure if I would be able all that many what with all the goings on that comes with Winter festivities. That being said, I managed to surprise myself and read 10 books, bringing up my total number of books read to 142. Pretty impressive for a year as chaotic as 2016, I’d say. So, without further ado, here are those 10 books.

As ever, for reference, the way I rate is as follows:

1-Unable to Finish ; 2-Did not enjoy ; 3-Liked ; 4-Really Liked ; 5-Loved

Paperback

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris – 3/4

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge – 4/5

Hardback

Prague in the Heart by Renáta Fučiková – 3.5/5

The Penultimate Peril by Lemony Snicket – 4.5/5

The Beatrice Letters by Lemony Snicket – 2/5

The End by Lemony Snicket – 3.5/5

 

Kindle

A List of Cages by Robin Roe – 4.5/5

A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold – 5/5

Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin – 4/5

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – 4.5/5

So there we have it, my concluding books of 2016. I nearly finished Uprooted by Naomi Novik, but unfortunately did not quite make it by the clock striking 12. At least it made for an excellent first book of 2017, a trend which will hopefully continue as the year progresses. Part of me wants to beat the 142 total of last year, but I think, for now, I will just aim for 100 and enjoy the books that I read rather than racing to beat a target.

I do have plenty of books that I would like to read next year (158 ones I already own if my book database is anything to go by). I know I won’t get to them all, not least because that list will always continue to grow, but it does give me plenty of choice and worlds to explore in the coming months. Fingers crossed 2017 will be as good a reading year as 2016!

Leave a Reply

