My Top Books of 2016

The end of 2016 is nigh and, with it, comes the conclusion to another year of reading. My reading this year has had its ups and downs. I have read a huge variety of books from non-fiction to romance to high fantasy of which I’ve given ratings from 2 to 5. I’ve not had any books that I did not finish (but that’s more due to my refusal to let Tess of the D’Urbervilles defeat me than anything else). According to my Goodreads challenge, I have read 141 books this year, but including a book that is not actually on Goodreads (gasp!) and the one I am currently reading and hoping to finish by New Year, that’s 143. Either way, that’s a lot of books I have read this year.

Which brings me to my top reads for 2016, which was decidedly difficult to decide on as I have read a good number of excellent books this year. So, with that in mind, I decided to break it down by the format I read the book in. These aren’t all books that have been released this year, just ones I have read this year. They have, however, all been given 5 star ratings by me.

So, without further ado, here are my top paperback, hardback, audiobook and kindle reads of 2016:

Paperback

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

The Kappilan of Malta by Nicholas Monsarrat

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Illuminae by Amie Kaufmann and Jay Kristoff

 

Hardback

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany

Eleanor by Jason Gurley

 

Audiobook

The Edge of Nowhere by C.H. Armstrong

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

 

Kindle

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

 

Note the Harry Potter series being combined. This was the first time I had listened to Stephen Fry’s telling of the series all the way through – I had never really got into them before. This made me experience the whole series in a whole new light so I decided to combine them for this rather than pick out any individual one.

So, those are the top books I have read in 2016. There is quite a mix there, so I wouldn’t compare one to another, but each one has impacted me in different ways – be it making me see things from a new perspective, inspiring me with my own writing, or even just been completely enjoyable.

Hopefully, 2017 will be an even better for reading and I will discover an even greater range of brilliant books.

Leave a Reply

