The Books I Have to Read by 2017

It is already October, and there are only a few months left in the year. Unfortunately, those months do not include enough time for me to read all 141 books on my to-read list (this list includes books I have on my kindle, on my bookcase and on my audible account). So, to make my incredible to-read list a little less daunting, I thought I would narrow down it down a little. So, instead of tackling the 141 books all at once, I am going select 15 books that I definitely want to finish by the end of this year. All the others I read will just be a bonus.

Narrowing the list down, however, proved to be a little more difficult. I managed to get the list to 29 just by filtering for titles that instantly grabbed me (I have them all listed on an Excel spreadsheet). From there, I gave each one a rating based on its location in a series (the later it is, the higher the rating) or if it was a standalone. This process also removed any which I was currently reading or any re-reads I wanted to do. Discounting all the standalones and starts of series gave me 8 books to read. The tricky part was deciding which seven of the other books to add. So, as I can read short books (200-300 pages) quite quickly, I removed them from the list, as well as any audiobooks as those can be listened to at any time. A quick skim down the remaining list, with the instant removal of anything that did not strike my immediate fancy, and I was, rather fortuitously, left with those seven books.

So, without further ado, here are the 15 books I will finish by the 31st December – no hopefully, possibly or maybe about it.

  • Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Angel of Storms by Trudi Canavan
  • Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
  • Fool’s Quest by Robin Hobb
  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
  • Something Rotten by Jasper Fforde
  • The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Catalyst by Helena Coggan
  • The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman
  • The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
  • The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch
  • This Savage Song by V.E Schwab
  • Vicious by V.E Schwab

There does seem to be quite a good variety in that selection, and quite a few chunky books as well. The only problem is, I have absolutely no idea where to start. I guess that is the next step. I am looking forward to reading all of these books, so whatever the case I do think I have some excellent reading ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

