The Sims Book Tag

I loved playing The Sims when I was younger and, I’ll admit, there are times when it takes every ounce of strength not to re-install it and spend the rest of my days playing it again (I got slightly addicted, it was safer to uninstall). So, when this tag kept popping up on my YouTube recommended videos, I decided it would be a lot of fun to do myself.

Original Video by Hails Hearts Nyc: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7zqrMO5_qI&feature=youtu.be

Now, onto the questions:

  1. The original Sims: the best author debut.

First question, I am off to a good start. I, to my shame, don’t really pay too much attention to whether or not a book is an author debut so I had to do a bit of research on this (essentially going through some of my favourite books to find one that is the author’s first). So, without further ado, the best author debut is The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch. While not a recent debut, it is a brilliant one. I just really love this book so I am quite glad to discover it was Lynch’s first as it means I could mention it here.

  1. The grim reaper: the saddest character death.

There are just so many and each one affects you differently. I think I could probably say about every death in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. What I find with deaths, however, is that it’s not the death itself that is sad, it’s the reactions of those who still live. So, thinking back to books I’ve read recently, the ones which rate the highest on the sad-ometer, that aren’t in the Harry Potter series, are probably (spoilers here) Will Traynor from Me Before You and Molly from Fool’s Assassin.

  1. Sims getting stuck: a character that just got in the way.

The first character I could think of for this question is in the book I am currently reading, which isn’t even out yet, so I’m not going to mention said character for spoiler reasons, so now I need to think of another. That other will be Felix from Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin, who gets in the way of Yael’s mission (and of the relationship between Yael and Luka). While I did think his presence in the novel gave it a bit of extra depth and is very enjoyable, he does get in the way of her final goal.

  1. Simlish: a book with amazing writing.

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan – everything about this book is beautiful: the characters, the story and, yes, the writing. It’s easy to read but the writing is magical, weaving this incredible image into your head so that you are nothing but completely engrossed in the story.

  1. Expansion packs: a series where the books kept on getting better.

The Lunar Chronicles is the first series which comes to mind. I have yet to read the final book in the series, but the three which I have read so far are fantastic. Each one builds on the world and story of the previous on, introducing more incredible characters and just being really fun reads. I have no doubt in my mind that Winter will be a brilliant finale, although if it will peak Cress may be another matter.

  1. Sims romance: the worst case of insta-love.

Insta-love, I don’t think there is any one worst case. This is probably my least favourite trope – it’s convenient, doesn’t add to the character’s development and just comes across as false, especially when there is absolutely no reason for it. Young adult and teen fiction are guilty suspects for this. The first that comes to mind is probably the relationship between Alice and Cole in Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter. I had real problems with this relationship (especially since it was an abusive one) and the insta-love aspect of it was just the icing on the cake.

  1. Cheats: a book that was entirely unrealistic.

I think that, for this question, my answer has to be The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight. I really struggled with reading this book. It came across as a bit over the top and I could not believe anything that was happening was real. As much as I had wanted to enjoy it, this book was just a little bit too unrealistic for me.

  1. Needs fulfillment: a character who made all the wrong decisions.

This was going to be my answer to the previous question, but Vee from Nerve by Jeanne Ryan makes so may wrong decisions in this book. Alright, if she had not made those decisions then this book probably would not have existed (or at least would have been rather boring) but really, if she had any sense, she would not have gone through will everything she did, all for a pair of shoes.

  1. Error code 12: a series that started off great but went downhill from there.

This is difficult. I’ve not read very many series which have gone downhill. I’ve read plenty of first books which I’ve not especially enjoyed so not continued the series, but I’m not sure about whole series which has gone downhill. So, struggling to think of anything, I will probably go with the Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith, simply because I didn’t enjoy Career of Evil as much as I enjoyed the other two books.

  1. The Sims vortex: a book/series that completely engrossed you.

Is this really any question? The Harry Potter series, easily. A non-Harry Potter answer would have to be The Edge of Nowhere by C.H. Armstrong. I listened to this on audiobook and it completely engrossed me. I would happily just sit there and listen to the book, living Victoria’s life in my head and doing absolutely nothing else.
So there you have it, those are my answers to The Sims Book Tag. I am not going to tag anyone but if you want to answer the questions yourself, feel free. I really enjoyed thinking about these ones and trying to use books which aren’t part of a certain 7-book long series.

Leave a Reply

