The Books I Read in August

I had a pretty good reading month in August and beat my record of 14 books with 16. It probably helped that I went away for 2 weeks and so was able to work my way through a lot of the paperbacks which have been on my to-read list. It was a bit more of a mixed bunch this month, both in genres and ratings.

I would not necessarily say the ratings are directly comparable as there is a lot of variety in the types of books but for reference, the way I rate is as follows:

1-Unable to Finish ; 2-Did not enjoy ; 3-Liked ; 4-Really Liked ; 5-Loved

 Paperbacks

Inherited by Freedom Matthews – 3.5/5

No Plot? No Problem! By Chris Baty– 3/5

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan – 4.5/5

Girl Detached by Manuela Salvi – 4.5/5 (Review)

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan – 4/5

Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb – 4.5/5

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella – 3.5/5

The Deviants by C.J. Skuse – 4/5

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver – 3.5/5

 

Hardbacks

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne– 4/5 (Blog Post)

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith – 4/5

The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket – 4.5/5

Kindle

Tears of Time by Joel Lawrence – 4/5

The Gift by Alison Croggon – 4/5

American Monsters by Derek Landy – 4/5 (review)

Audiobook

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch, narrated by Michael Page – 4.5/5

 

Those are all the books I read in August. I doubt I will be able to beat the 16 book record in September, but that month will be focused on reading and finishing a number of series I have on the go, so I am quite looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

