Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

August has been a very Potter month this month, what with the release of the Cursed Child script at the end of July, the play being officially launched and the news that Pottermore are releasing 3 new ebooks.

I was one of the lucky ones. I managed to get tickets to go and see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, so this time last week I was sat in the theatre in awe of the magic on stage.

I had already read the script, in about two hours during a plane journey, but seeing it onstage brought a whole new set of surprises. I won’t reveal anything but here are a few of my thoughts about both the script and the play.

The script on its own was an entertaining and enjoyable read. On first completing it, I couldn’t give it anything less than five stars, although this has now decreased to about 4, having both had time to dwell on it and having seen the play itself. It was brilliant being back at Hogwarts and, while the play format meant there was very little description, the book itself was easy to read and imagine what was occurring. However, the dialogue itself did not come across very well in places and the plot was difficult to follow on occasion as well.

When transferred onto the stage, however, the flaws of the script were erased and the story came to life. Where the dialogue struggled before, and ever where it didn’t, the actors’ performances gave it greater depth. A lot of the humour that was lacking in the script shone on stage and there were often moments when the entire theatre was laughing. The plot was also easier to follow with the actors’ movements on stage and actually being able to see it. Not to mention, the set design was phenomenal and it really felt like you were being transported back to Hogwarts despite there being little actually on the stage.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed both script and play. I finished the script desperate to see the play and I finished the play curious to reread the script. I know that I would love to see the play again, but for now I will wait until the tickets are a lot easier to get hold of and enjoy the memory of the day.

If you are going to see it, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. The amount of work and detail that went into the play was evident from the very start. If you do have a chance, there is a free museum not too far away from the theatre called the House of MinaLima – this contains all of the prints created for the film series and is a really lovely museum to visit when in the Harry Potter zone.

If you have seen it, let me know what you thought of it (but keeping spoilers to a minimum)!

 

 

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Pingback: The Books I Read in August | Lost in a Daydream

Leave a Reply

