Mid-Year Freak-Out Tag

I have seen the Mid-Year Freak-Out tag making the rounds on YouTube and thought I would have some fun with it on here. I decided to only use books/authors once to give the answers a bit of variety but, as it turned out, I did not really need that rule at all. There were so many different books that I could have picked from (reading over 80 books already this year will do that)

Best book you’ve read so far in 2016

Looking at my book database, half of the books I rated 5 stars this year are Harry Potters from my reread of that series. Because Harry Potter is easily going to win on a lot of these questions, I am going to exclude the series.

For now though, two books come to mind for this category. The first is one I rated 5 stars and that was Can you #readwithoutprejudice?. It was the one which affected me the most and one that I have spent a lot of time thinking about since (review). In terms of sheer enjoyment, the other book was Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. This was the first book of the year and I loved it (review).

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

Not including the Harry Potter series, I am going to go with Cress by Marissa Meyer. This is such a fun series and with the fairy-tale twists, who can deny it is fantastic. I love Cress as a character so getting a book which revolves more around her is great. It also starts pulling the series towards his conclusion as things start to get a bit more dramatic (also Cress and Thorne are adorable).

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

Without question, This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. I have adored all the other books of hers which I read and am dying to get into this one. I have heard nothing bad about it and the whole premise sounds fascinating.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, to be released on 1st December 2016. Ashamedly, I have not read the second book but I am beyond excited for the third. I loved the first book and have only been putting of the second book for fear of it not living up to expectations. Regardless, I will be getting my hands on this book as soon as I possibly can.

Biggest disappointment

My biggest disappointment is probably The Outliers by Kimberley McCreight. I had such high expectations for this book – the concept was fascinating but it just fell flat. The book was confusing and did not come across as very well-thought out. It was also completely different to what I was expecting (review).

Biggest surprise

While there were a number of surprises for me this year, the one which springs to mind is The Kappillan of Malta by Nicholas Monsarrat. I started this book last year but struggled to read it thanks to a mixture of being overtired, small font and the book being not particularly easy to read. I started it again this year and I was thoroughly surprised. I ended up being completely drawn into the story and gave the book 5 stars.

Favourite new author.(Debut or new to you)

This question made me realise quite how many books I read that are by authors I have read before. It was actually a challenge to find ones which I could say I loved that I had not read before 2016, especially since I have only read one book by a lot of them. So decide I have picked someone who I would definitely be reading again and that is David Mitchell. Yes, I have never read a David Mitchell before this year. I did, however, really enjoy Slade House and now really want to read more of his books.

Newest fictional crush

I am not really one for fictional crushes so I can’t really answer this question, unfortunately.

Newest favourite character

Now this one is difficult. While I don’t have fictional crushes, I do have favourite characters and they are constantly changing. The newest one is probably Victoria Hastings from The Edge of Nowhere by C.H. Armstrong. Her story is heart-breaking and frustrating but she remains strong throughout, refusing to let her vulnerabilities and misfortunes get the better of her.

Book that made you cry

There was only one. I am not someone who cries at books but after seeing the film and then reading the book, I will admit, there was a tear. If you haven’t guessed already, it is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Need I say more?

Book that made you happy

I’m not going to go with a book on this one, rather I am going to go with a film based on a book. I came out of the latest BFG film in pure delight. My inner-child was purely delighted by the film and I just felt incredibly happy watching Mark Rylance become the Big Friendly Giant we all know and love.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)Twelve Kings

Too difficult! There are so many beautiful covers out there. So for this one, I perused the book covers I actually have saved and decided to go with Twelve Kings by Bradley Beaulieu, it’s just so pretty. I do have a blog post of some of my other favourite covers which you can find here.

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Simple answer: a lot. I have 146 books on my to-read list (a mix of kindle books, audiobooks and physical books). My main goal will be completing a number of series I have on the go. The first three which come to mind, where I have all the books are: The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, The Winner’s Trilogy and the Thursday Next series.

Favourite Book Community Member (Blogger, Booktuber and Bookstagrammer)

I love so many of them! In answer to this question, however, I will go with Amy from Pursuing Bears. I know her in the ‘real world’ and I enjoy reading her blog posts, so there is not really any question for this one.

Those are the questions for the Mid-Year Freak-Out tag. I hope enjoyed it and feel free to do it yourself if you want to.

Leave a Reply

