BookTube-a-Thon Wrap Up

Last week was BookTube-a-Thon. A readathon run by Ariel Bissett, it is seven days of reading, with seven reading challenges and a number of book-related challenges cross various social media channels (youtube, twitter, Instagram). Needless to say, it is a lot of fun.

While generally staying away from readathons this year as I don’t really have that much time, I could not resist BookTube-a-Thon. I did not have time to take part in any of the book-related challenges, but I really enjoyed seeing other people’s responses to those challenges and imagining what kind of thing I would do if I did have the time. I also, of course, did a lot of reading.

My TBR for the week is here. Let’s see how I did and what I thought of the books I read.

 Read a book with yellow on the cover: Mobile Library by David Whitehouse

I gave this book a 3 star rating out of 5. It was an excellent book to start the week with as the magic of books was a major part of the book. Unfortunately, it did not really stand out for me. I enjoyed it, the story was good and the characters a delight, but there was nothing which really wowed me and I’m not sure it is one I will likely read again.

Read a book by a favourite author: The Vile Village by Lemony Snicket

This was, I felt, one of the better books that I’ve read so far in the series and one which I rated 4 out of 5. It was not so far out that the book was unbelievable but it also had its own twists and turns which made the story entertaining. The ending was bittersweet – happy in some regards but not so much in others. I read it in a couple of hours and thought it a good, second book for the readathon as it was quick, easy but still a lot of fun.

Read a book which is older than you: Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

Finally, I have finished this book. Tess of the D’Urbervilles has been on my to-read list for a long time and I have just kept putting it off. I don’t particularly enjoy Thomas Hardy’s writing style but Tess is a classic that does get talked about a lot. I ended up giving the book 2 out of 5. I listened to the audiobook which helped overcome the writing style but while I do think I would enjoy the story if written by another person, or as a film/mini-series, I could not bring myself to enjoy the book, sadly.

Read a book only after sunset: Slade House by David Mitchell

This book was perfect for this challenge. It is made up of four parts, each set on the same day but with nine years between them. Each part works as an individual story but builds upon the previous to progress the overall story. I rated it 4 out of 5 as, while I did enjoy the story, the parts did feel a bit repetitive, despite reading one a night instead of all at once. That being said, it is very well written and I came out really wanting to read more David Mitchell.

Read a book you discovered through BookTube: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

 I am so annoyed – I did not manage to finish this book in the week. I am currently about 50 pages from the end, but unfortunately a headache forced me to put it down in surrender and I could not reach the final page. From what I have read so far, it is a 4 out of 5 rating, but that may change as I reach the ending. I may also give it the benefit of doubt as reading with a headache is not fun. Still, it is a well-written, well-crafted story and I am really enjoying it.

Read/Watch a book and its adaption: The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

I will admit, this one was a long-shot for me and I didn’t make it. It was the longest (I think) of my selection of books and, unfortunately, life got in the way and I didn’t even make it to the first page. It is now back on the bookcase and hopefully I will get to it soon, as I have heard really good things about the book.

Read seven books: Can you #readwithoutprejudice? By Anonymous

So I didn’t make it to seven books. I did, however, manage to read the book I selected as my seventh one. This book was my favourite of the week and I rated it 5 out of 5. I have already written a review, which you can find here, and I would recommend reading it. I won’t say more, as going in without any preconceptions about what to expect really benefits the reading experience.

 

So those are the books I managed to read (or not read) for the BookTube-a-Thon. I thoroughly enjoyed the week, and just having a reason to sit and read (although I did fall behind on a number of things). I’m looking forward to the next one!

 

2 thoughts on “BookTube-a-Thon Wrap Up

  1. Pingback: The Books I Read in July | Lost in a Daydream

Leave a Reply

