Can you #readwithoutprejudice?

This is a book which will stay in your thoughts long after reading, one which will take on your emotions through a whirlwind and one which will keep you riveted throughout. #readwithoutprejudice

Today’s review will be slightly different to usual. Reasons for which will become apparent momentarily.

I received Can you #readwithoutprejudice? from Hodder & Stoughton through NetGalley. That title, and the cover it came with, is all I knew about the book when I requested it and all I knew about it when I started it. The idea is to go in without any preconceptions about what the book is about based on description, cover or even title. As such, I am going to try and write this review without revealing anything about the book itself.

Going into a book with no idea about what to expect was a daunting experience for me. I have only done it once before, with The Girl with all the Gifts, but at least with that one I had a title and a little bit of a description. Can you #readwithoutprejudice? barely had that. I needn’t have been worried.

From the very beginning, the book is superbly written. While I don’t pretend to be an expert on any of the themes and subject matters in the book, I thought the amount of research that went into it was impressive. The author certainly did not shy away from the nitty-gritty parts either.

The characters were what made the book, for me at least. I felt like they could very easily step into this world fully formed. I was completely wrapped up in their individual stories, each one inciting different emotions and reactions. But the plot itself is riveting as well; I kept second-guessing what would happen and was hooked completely as things started to heat up.

Unfortunately, I did stumble across the book’s actual name, author and title by accident when I was about half-way through, which did ruin the intrigue a little bit. But, by that point, I was so engrossed in the story that it hardly mattered. Indeed, the only flaw I found with the book itself was the very end, which did not quite sit with the tone of the rest of the book, otherwise it was a fantastic read.

If you are considering buying this book, or even if you’re not, I would definitely recommend reading it. While it may not be the easiest read at times, it is a powerful one and it will stay with you long after you’ve closed the final page.

Can you #readwithoutprejudice? will be released 1st October 2016.

Rating: 5/5

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30426898-can-you-readwithoutprejudice

 

6 thoughts on “Can you #readwithoutprejudice?

  1. Pingback: BookTube-a-Thon Wrap Up | Lost in a Daydream

  2. Pingback: The Books I Read in July | Lost in a Daydream

  3. Pingback: Mid-Year Freak-Out Tag | Lost in a Daydream

Leave a Reply

