Writing Update – June 2016

This post is coming slightly later than normal for the simple reason that I spent yesterday in complete shock. The EU referendum result has sent shock waves around the UK, and indeed Europe, and I am devastated by it (Remain supporter here).

But, onto slightly happier affairs, this post is going to be a quick updating on my writing.

I have not been doing much writing lately; life had been busy and getting in the way so the amount I have been able to work on has been limited. I have been able to do the odd editing and writing from time to time, but really not as much as I would like. So, I have come up with a cunning plan (well, a plan, I wouldn’t necessarily call it cunning).

As I have said in the past, I have two project currently on the go. The first is 5-book series which is still in the writing stage. The second is a duology (with potential for a prequel), the first book of which is in the editing stages.

One of my goals this year is to get a book to the point where I can start sending it out to agents and/or publishers. The latter of the two projects is the best bet for this, as it is the closest to completion and the one I am most happy with at this current moment in time.

So, what is this plan? Well, I have just bought tickets to attend YALC at the end of July where they have a session to pitch the book to agents. I’m not sure what the outcome for that will be, but it seems as good a place as any to start and it provides me with a deadline which I work much better towards. Luckily for me, July is also Camp Nanowrimo month – which I shall be making use of for editing the book – the goal is to get the novel to a good standard by the end of July. It will be a lot of work, but I am hopeful.  

After July, well I will be dividing my attention between sending out the novel to agents and either working on the 5-book series or writing the second book in the duology. Whichever one I go for I will be writing.

I will endeavour to post frequent updates on either this blog or Twitter to keep you updated on how it is all going. And I’m looking forward to it. It’s been too long since I’ve properly focused on my writing and I miss it. Bring on the next few months!

3 thoughts on “Writing Update – June 2016

Leave a Reply

