Five Favourite Book Covers

Book covers come in all kinds of styles and sizes (believe me, the latter gives my bookcase no end of grief) and everyone has their own preferences of what they like. For some, they like minimalist styles with bright colours, others prefer intricate fonts. I’m not entirely sure what my exact favourite type of book cover, but I know its amongst those which take a bit more of an arty and/or graphic twist. So, to give some idea as to what my favourite book covers are, here are five of my favourite ones (in no particular order):

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson (or the UK covers for Sanderson’s books in general)The Final EmpireI love the style of these covers – the use of colour, the art style – all of Sanderson’s books look fantastic on my shelves. The Final Empire is one of my favourites for how evocative it is. With the castle towering above the lone figure, and the blue mist curling around them, the tone of the book is captured perfectly and it really caught my attention as well.

 Pawn of the Phoenix by Jamie McLachlan

Mind of the Phoenix

This is a strange one for me. I don’t normally like books with actual people on the front cover, instead of artistic representations of them. Perhaps this one makes the cut because you cannot actually see her face. Her figure also combines with the rest of the cover to create something eye-catching. The mixture of clockwork, floral design and living creature is interesting to look at and I really like the deep red of the background against the pale grey of her dress.

Twelve Kings by Bradley Beaulieu Twelve Kings

There are two variations of this cover. This one and then a version which appears to be a close up of the figure, without most of the surrounding thorns. I much prefer this version. The dichotomy of light and dark caught my attention as soon as I saw it and I’ve been wanting to read the book ever since (I now own is, so at least I can admire it every day). I really like the symmetry of this cover, with the two swords and archway created by the light and thorns. It gives the cover a sense of strength and really make me want to find out more.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

truthwitch

Another one that includes a figure despite my dislike of them on the covers. I think this one works because of the fact it doesn’t look photo-shopped on or like a photograph as most with people on do. There is another cover to this book, a UK version, which I hate – there is so little detail in it and it does not make the book appealing at all. This version however is beautifully composed. The background isn’t distinct, but still looks like a lot of effort has gone into it. I really like the water rising up to frame the figure and you only see half of her face, which gives it a sense of mystery as well.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora

This cover is just art, pure and simple. You can tell that so much thought has gone into it just by looking at it. The colours are rich yet not over-powering. The background and title takes up 90% of the cover yet it is the small, shadowy figure that captivates you. This was another cover buy for me and the book does not disappoint (it’s brilliant). The other covers in this series are also beautiful but, as the first book in the series, this is the one I’ve picked. I have made it my mission to own them all, however, if just so I can look at them.

Those are five of my favourite book covers. I hope you enjoyed it. What are your favourite book covers? I am really curious to know.

One thought on “Five Favourite Book Covers

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Freak-Out Tag | Lost in a Daydream

Leave a Reply

