Inspirational Places: Blenheim Palace

It has been a while since I last did an ‘Inspirational Places’ post and I thought Blenheim Palace was the perfect place to pick it back up again.

I went to Blenheim a couple of weeks ago. I was only there for a few hours but while I was there, my brain ended up going in all sorts of directions – the creative juices were flowing and I found myself envisioning myself sitting in the gardens engrossed in my writing or even my art. P1000056

If you’ve never been to Blenheim Palace before, I would certainly recommend the trip. It’s most common claim to fame is that it was the birthplace of Winston Churchill, but there is so much more to the building and history than just that. For instance, the first child to inherit was female, much against the traditions of that time, and the library has over 10,000 books in it.

If you’re looking for ideas, Blenheim Palace is a wonder. The gardens extend for ages and include a hollow tree, a grand waterfall and an Obelisk. You can also explore many areas of the house which also contains beautiful paintings, antique furniture and a rather peculiar statue. There are also plenty of events held there which could help sprout ideas. From the triathlon running when I visited, to a flower show this weekend, there is something for everyone and, by extension, pretty much every type of story. Not to mention, the names sound like they’re straight out of a fairy tale.

P1000059

Have you been there? If so, how did you find Blenheim Palace? If not, which places do you find the most inspiring?

Leave a Reply

