My Intimidating TBR Pile

While browsing the BookTube section of YouTube, I came across this tag – the Intimidating TBR Pile tag. This tag was created by Lindsey Rey (Original Video) and it just seemed like a good way to take a closer look at my massive TBR pile, as well as just generally being quite fun. So let’s get cracking on the questions:

1) What book have you been unable to finish?

There were a few choices for this question, one of which comes up later on, but really the bok which fits this the most is: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. I only have this as an audiobook, so I don’t really know if it would be as difficult to finish in the written word, but as it stands I have tried to listen to this audiobook so many times. So much so that I know the first two chapters nearly by heart. However, I just can’t get to the end. I don’t know if it’s the narrator, the story, or just the circumstances in which I listen to it, but I just cannot get to the end of this book.

What book have you yet to read because…

2) …you just haven’t had the time?

While any book on my TBR pile could be an answer to this, I had to choose The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson. This is a book I know I will enjoy, having loved everything else Sanderson has written. It is also a massive book and I want to be able to enjoy it properly. As a result, it continually gets put on hold until I can find the time to sit down and get fully invested in the story.

3) …it’s a sequel?

Winter by Marissa Meyer is probably the sequel which is nearest the top of my list. I bought this immediately after finishing Cress yet just have not got around to reading it yet. Part of the reason for this is the novella Fairest which I am currently debating getting, as I am not sure where that book stands in the series.

4) …it’s brand new?

I am currently on a book-buying ban at the moment so don’t really have any books which are brand new, although I do have a few which I bought before the ban. The most recently owned book I have is The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner which was the Owlcrate book for March so, again, I just have not got around to reading it yet.

5) …you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

There is only one book on my shelf which fits this category and that is Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy. This book could also be in answer to the first question, but as I rarely buy books by authors whose other work I’ve not enjoyed, this book was the only option for this, having got it in a charity shop as a ‘this is a classic, I should probably read it’ buy. I read A Pair of Blue Eyes by Hardy for school and really did not enjoy it so I am finding hard to pick up and continue Tess of the D’Urbervilles.

6) …you’re just not in the mood for it?

Of all the books, The Kappilan of Malta by Nicholas Monsarrat is the one I am most disappointed about not having read yet. I have started it (so it could also answer the first question) and enjoyed it, but the writing style and topic are so different to what I’m used to reading that they require me to be in a certain mood to read it. With the current hectic-ness of my life, I just have not been able to get myself into that mood. Hopefully soon!

7) …it’s humongous?

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness is nearly 700 pages long with quite small font. The story looks interesting, but I know very little about it. The audiobook (which I also own) is also quite long – it’s nearly 24 hours, so not as long as other audiobooks I own (Sanderson’s The Way of Kings is over 45 hours long, but he’s already been mentioned), but still fairly long. It is one I would like to get to eventually, but I’m going to need a lot of time to get through it, so maybe not just yet.

8) …because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

I bought The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon because it’s a book which both looked and sounded interesting. After buying, however, I found that it had very mixed reviews – half of them seemed to be praising the book no-end while the other half hated it. As with most people, I like to enjoy the books I read and having bought this book because it sounded so interesting, I’m reluctant to be disappointed.

9) What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

This book could fit in as an answer to so many of these questions (but, surprisingly, not the first one, as I’ve yet to even start it). War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy is definitely the most intimidating book on my TBR pile. Not only does it come with a history of being known as a difficult read, but it is also very long and very out of my comfort-zone. However, is also a book I really want to read. I just need to pluck up the courage to do so.

10) Who do you tag?

I don’t really like tagging people do to things (it’s my least favourite part of any tag) so I’m just going to say that if you would like to do this tag, feel free to do so.

That’s it for my Intimidating TBR Pile tag. I have many more books on my pile, but let me know what you’ve thought of these books if you’ve read them and if there are any I should get to first.

 

 

Leave a Reply

