Slay that Series Readathon – Wrap Up

Last week was the Slay that Series Readathon, which I talk about in a previous post. Unfortunately, I did not do as well as I had hoped in it. Despite having the entire week and no internet, it was not until the last two days that I really knuckled down and started to read. Having just moved house, there were a lot of things which needed doing. I ended up having hardly any time to read at all!

That being said, I did manage to read two of the books that I had listed on my readathon TBR as well as two other books which weren’t on the list. Here is a look at how I did, first on the books I had planned and then on the two I didn’t.

The initial TBR List:

World After and End of Days by Susan EE (Penryn and the End of Days) – I only managed to read the whole of World After and start the beginning of End of Days. That being said, I really enjoyed that which I did read – I ended up reading World After in nearly a day (it would have been a day if I had not started it the night before) and I’m already a long way into End of Days only a few days after the readathon has ended. It’s a really fun, easy to read and gripping series. I’m looking forward to seeing how it is going to end.

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson (Mistborn) – Sadly, I did not make any progress on this book. It’s one that I really wanted to enjoy, having absolutely loved the first book in the series, and with so much going on, I left it until the end so that I could get into it when I had the time. Hopefully, I will have time this weekend to get back into the Mistborn world.

The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events) – Given that this is a short children’s book, it might be considered cheating, but given how my plan for the year is to read one of these books a month, I’m quite glad I finally managed to read this one. It’s a lot of fun and good for reading when you’re tired after a day at work.

The books which were not on the TBR list:

Childhood’s End by Arthur C. Clarke – this is the one book which threw me off course for completing End of Days as well. It’s not part of a series, but it is the book choice for a book club so I thought I had better read it. All in all, I did enjoy the book. It was probably not my favourite of the week, but it was an interesting read nonetheless.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – This one I listened to as an audiobook while I was at work. I really enjoyed it. The story was so well-paced and I was really engrossed in it. Unfortunately, because I was listening to it as an audiobook while I was doing other things, I did keep missing parts of the story so I could not get as into it as I would have liked. It is definitely a series I want to continue, however, just with the physical books so I can get fully involved.

Those are the books I read for the Slay that Series Readathon. I do wish I had been able to read more in the week, but I’m glad I did it as it has pulled me away from the direction of a reading slump. I think I’m going to continue reading books in a series for a little while longer – I’ll finish the Penryn and the End of Days series, get back into Mistborn and I have the Divergent series to read as well.

Did you take part in the Slay that Series Readathon? If so, what did you read?

Leave a Reply

