TBR Jar 2016

SAM_3898 (2)

One and a half months into 2016; one might say that it is a little late for this post. I say otherwise.

Last year, I started doing the TBR Jar Challenge, whereby I put a number of reading challenges into jar (or, in reality, a box) and pulled one out each month to complete. Unfortunately, with all the change occurring and the tiredness that went with starting a new, full-time job, the challenge fizzled out and I never completed it.

This year, I thought about starting the challenge up again. I have over 100 books to read and it seemed like a fun way to get that number down. But, thinking it over, I realised that maybe it was not such a good idea. Part of why it fizzled out was because I was not enjoying it as much as I did at the start. It got to the point where it felt more like a chore and it was not making a single dent on my to-read pile. If anything, it was increasing it as on occasion I bought a book in order to fulfil a challenge.

You may be wondering now why, if I did not want to start the challenge again, there is a picture of a TBR Jar (more like a pot) at the top of this post. That is because, while not the TBR Jar Challenge, I am going to be doing something fairly similar.

In that pot is the title of every physical book that I have to read. I decided against adding kindle and audiobooks for the sheer fact that the pot would not fit them all. There are also the challenges which were in the TBR jar last year.

Rather than picking out a challenge each month, reading that book and then writing a post or filming a review about it, this time around I will pick out a little, folded bit of paper every time I finish a book. I will then read that book, or read a book based on the challenge on the paper. If I pull out a book or challenge that I am really not in the mood for, then I simply put that book back and choose another one. This swap can only be done three times for each choosing, however.

At the end of the month, I will then do a quick summary of the books that were picked for that month in a blog post. This way, there will be less pressure for me and you will all get to see what I have been reading. It should also, hopefully, mean that there is a bit more variety in what I am reading each month.

So far, it is off to a good start. The first book I pulled out of the pot was Asking For It by Louise O’Neill, which I read in a day, and the second was Dune by Frank Herbert, which I am currently reading, so already a good mix. I am looking forward to how this variation of the TBR Jar challenge works out for me.

What kind of things are you doing to get through your TBR pile? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

