Reading Plans for 2016

With every New Year comes new resolutions. I am, by my own admission, not very good at keeping to resolutions, but I do think it is still worthwhile to create goals and plans for the year to come. At least then there is something to work towards and, you never know, something might stick.

Recently, I catalogued most of my books (there are still the non-fiction and classics to go) and split them up into those I have read and those I haven’t. I made a slightly disturbing discovery. As of writing, I read a total of 151 books in 2015 – quite an achievement if I do say so myself. However, I still have 147 on my to-read list. The number of books I read in 2015 only just outnumbers those I still have left to read.

So, with that in mind, I have formulated my reading plans for 2016 in an attempt to get that number down. Here is what 2016 is for me in terms of books:

A Year of Finishing Series

2015 saw me start many, many series and I found myself engrossed in a large number of them. Unfortunately, I ended up buying more start of series than end of series and so have fallen very behind on a lot of them. Indeed, I only finished 2 of the series I started last year. In 2016 I will aim to focus on continuing those series and, when the urge to buy books becomes too strong, mainly buy sequel books (although if another beautiful books comes along, it may be too hard to resist).

A Year of Rereads

For the last few years, I had toyed with the idea of rereading A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. I really enjoyed them when I was younger and I don’t think I ever actually read the last one. So, in a tie in with the point above, I am going to reread this series in 2016 – one book a month (two in December). If I have time, I am going to also try to reread a few other books from my childhood that I can’t really remember but know I loved.

A Year of Reading the To-Reads

Finally, I will try and get the to-read list to under 50 books. With it currently being at 147 books, the chance of me completely beating it is very slim so, if I can read 100 of them, I would call that a success. A number of them are ebooks and audiobooks so I am hoping it won’t be too difficult a challenge. My goal is to read about 5-10 books a month, hopefully more.

So, there you have it, my three reading plans for 2016. They should not be too difficult so long as I maintain some semblance of control over my book-buying habits and I don’t get struck down by any major reading slumps.

What are your reading plans for 2016? Let me know in the comments below. I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

