What I’ve Read and What I’m Reading

This Monday will be slightly different. Rather than a book review, which is my usual Monday post, I am going to do a couple of very mini reviews and talk about the book I am currently reading. There will be a larger review on Friday of ‘Thief’s Magic’ by Trudi Canavan, so if you’re interested in that, stay tuned.

Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

‘Touch of Power’ is set in a world just coming out of a plague epidemic. In this world, the people believe the healers to be responsible for the plague and have turned on them, hunting the healers down and executing them. Avry is one of the last h ealers. After making a crucial mistake while on the run, she finds herself captured by a team of men determined for her to heal their leader – a man who she hates more than any other.

This book confused me. It is not very well written, the characters were frustrating and some plot points seemed very unbelievable. Yet, I found myself really enjoying it. I found myself laughing at times and getting invested in the characters and the story. It was a strange experience because no matter how many things I spotted that should have decreased my enjoyment; I still ended up liking the book.

Rating: 3.5/5

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

‘Steelheart’ is set 10 years after Calamity – a mysterious event that gave a number of people powers. These people became Epics but, rather than the heroes everyone was expecting, the powers had a dark side – all the Epics lost their humanity, corrupted by power and seeking domination of ordinary people. David is orphaned by the incredibly powerful Steelheart and dedicates his life to bringing Steelheart down. When The Reckoners, ordinary humans who are working against the Epics, come to town, David sees his chance to get his revenge.

I was not sure of ‘Steelheart’ at first – it took me a while to get into and David was a difficult character to get into – he has a certain quirk that can get quite annoying. I also guessed a number of the twists. However, and this is a big however, about 100 pages from the end, the book went from good to fantastic. I was hooked, completely caught in the action, which was brilliant, and really did not want to put the book down. I have already downloaded the novella ‘Mitosis’ as an ebook, which says a lot.

Rating: 4/5

Currently Reading: The Kappillan of Malta by Nicholas Monserrat

‘The Kappillan of Malta’ is a historical fiction novel set during 6 days in the war. The titular character – Father Salvatore, is a priest who cares for the homeless and refugees of the war in the catacombs of Malta as bombs fall from the sky above. This book is about what happened during those days and how Father Salvatore kept the people’s spirits alive as the siege goes on.

I am only a few pages into this book, but I am already captivated by the tale the Monsarrat weaves. His writing is incredible and he really captures the setting of the book. Unfortunately, the font in the copy I have is tiny so reading it is going to be quite slow as I can’t read small font when I’m tired, but regardless, I am looking forward to seeing where this story goes and finding out more about Father Salvatore.

Those are the three books I have read and am currently reading for the past week. I may do this kind of post again in future if I find myself getting ahead with reading, or wanting to have a bit of a change from a book review. I hope you enjoyed this post and let me know in the comments if you have read any of these books or want to read any of them and what you thought. I would be curious to hear your opinions.

Leave a Reply

