Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray – Review

If you are looking for a fun, creepy and pos-i-tute-ly entertaining read, then you need to look no further than ‘The Diviners’ series by Libba Bray.

I don’t know how or when it happened, but Libba Bray is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. It started off on a bit of a wrong note – I struggled with the first book of the Gemma Doyle series and have not read the rest of it, but since then, with every different book I’ve read by her, I’ve fallen further in love with her writing. I blame the audiobooks.

I listened to ‘The Diviners’ as an audiobook and adored it. While I received an ebook copy of ‘Lair of Dreams’ to review from NetGalley, the audiobook stayed with me and I could hear January LaVoy’s voice for each of the characters as I read it.

‘Lair of Dreams’ continues on from where ‘The Diviners’ left off, and focused on a few of the characters that did not get so much screen time of the last book, but still letting our old favourites share in the glory. I really loved this, especially since you get to meet new characters and see different combinations of people working together.

This book had a particularly creepy air to it as the main villain worked through dreams – anyone could be caught in the lair and once you were, death was imminent – but only after a few days of nightmares. While there were some predictable elements to this, and a few elements of the last book copied over to this one (i.e. the music), I found it particularly thrilling.

There were also plenty of subplots and a continuation of the over-arching story. These really added to the characters and the book, giving a depth and a much needed light-heartedness when things got dark. I will admit, Evie did get a bit annoying, but there were a few moments of vulnerability that helped you understand her behaviour and really made you feel for her.

While ‘Lair of Dreams’ does feel its length from time to time, the story really hooks you. I particularly loved the climactic ending – I could not put the book down at all during this bit, so it was lucky I had not read it on the bus to and from work as I had the earlier parts of the book. By the time I put it down, I wanted to pick up the next, which, given that the ‘Lair of Dreams’ is not actually out yet, is going to be a long wait.

‘Lair of Dreams’ will be released on 25th August 2015.

Rating: 4/5

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16060716-lair-of-dreams

The Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Lair-Dreams-Libba-Bray/9781907410420/?a_aid=rosienreads

Leave a Reply

