Summer Bookshelf: Five Books I will Be Reading This Summer

After reading Pursuing Bear’s blog post about the five books which are at the top of her to-read list this summer, I thought I would examine by rather large to-read shelf and pick out my own top five.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling

It had been a long time since I have reread the Harry Potter series, three years in fact – before I even started university. Now that my degree is over and I am embarking on the next stage of my life, I thought it was about time I pick them up again. So, while I may not make it to the end of the series by the summer is over, I am determined to read the very first book and relive the wonders of my childhood.

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

This is the first book in a series that I know very little about. From what I do know, it’s a fantasy novel where, after a lifetime in hiding, a girl emerges to take the throne of her kingdom. It is a novel about the politics of ruling and, from what I’ve heard, has very little romance involved, so I am really excited to start reading it. To top that off, Emma Watson (Hermione from Harry Potter) is attached to the film adaption, so I have high hopes for this book.

Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

I will read this book, I will. This book is one that has been on my to-read list for ages. I struggled through the last (and only) book to Thomas Hardy’s that I have read, so am struggling to gain enough incentive to start reading this one. I have heard good things about it, however, and it is one that I feel I need to read. So this summer, it will be done.

The Final Empire (Mistborn 1) by Brandon Sanderson

After the previous, slightly more challenging, read, my next is the first book in the Mistborn trilogy. I have loved all other Brandon Sanderson books that I have read before and have heard nothing book good things about this series. I am curious to see how the magic within its pages works and to explore the world Sanderson has created.

Grimm’s Fairy Tales

I love fairy tales. I have been brought up on Disney, read so many retellings, and yet I don’t think I have ever read the Grimm brothers’ version. So, this summer, I will endeavour to read them all. Or at least all of those I have in the collection I own. It will be a challenge, but I’m looking forward to completing it.

Let me know if you have any books you want to get to this summer or, if you’ve read any of these, what you thought of them. If you haven’t already, be sure to check out Pursuing Bears’ blog – it’s really a delight to read.

Leave a Reply

