Review of Midnight Crossroad

I listened to ‘Midnight Crossroad’ by Charlaine Harris in audiobook format. I have heard of Charlaine Harris as an author before, but it was only when I saw this book as the daily deal on audible that I decided to give her writing a go. By the end of it, I was glad I did.

‘Midnight Crossroad’ is a book set in a town of outcasts, where every character has secrets and no one asks any questions. The town is shaken up by the discovery of a body – the body of one of the town members’ girlfriends, who disappeared months before. Pasts are brought up and secrets are uncovered in the search for the murderer.

There is no doubting Harris’ ability to write. Each of the characters are unique in their mannerisms and histories, and the story is a delightful mixture of mystery, discovery and paranormal. Not only is Midnight a town of outcasts, its inhabitants include those of the supernatural type. This does not feel forced, instead feeling perfectly natural in the story and adding an extra layer to the world the book sets place in.

The novel did take a while to get into though, there were a couple of moments where I did feel like giving up. However, I’m glad of my determination to continue. Once the body was found, and I got into the characters, the book really picked up and I found myself not wanting to stop listening. I did guess the culprit’s identity fairly early on, and the different POVs were a little confusing at time, but otherwise I really enjoyed listening to the book.

Rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18107951-midnight-crossroad

The Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Midnight-Crossroad-Charlaine-Harris/9780425263167/?a_aid=RosieNReads

2 thoughts on “Review of Midnight Crossroad

  1. I’m currently reading Day Shift myself and am loving it, especially the focus on characters we didn’t learn much about in the first one (like Olivia). Thank you so much for the nomination! 🙂

Leave a Reply

