A Review of ‘The Diviners’ by Libba Bray

After listening to ‘Beauty Queens’ to Libba Bray for my TBR Jar Challenge in March, I decided to try another audiobook. This time, I chose ‘The Diviners’ by Libba Bray.

My main reasons for choosing ‘The Diviners’ are simple. The first is that the premise of the book is something that caught my attention and I was really curious to read the book. The second was that Libba Bray’s writing seems to really suit the audiobook format and I thought it would be a good option for this book. I was right – it was an excellent option.

The story follows Evie O’Neill, a girl with a mysterious gift, as she comes to New York in the roaring twenties. Once there, however, a series of murders begin to take place and Evie realises that she must use her gift if the killer is ever to be caught.

Narrated by January LaVoy, the story transports you back in time and you start to believe that you are actually there, as part of the tale. LaVoy managed to make each character’s voice clear and distinctive and the way she told the tale really brought the story to life.

While the concept of the story was really fascinating and appealed to my love of the paranormal, it did take a while to get started. This appears to be a trend with Libba Bray’s books – a slow start but a rollercoaster once it does. The climax of the story is thrilling, and I went out of my way to find excuses to listen to the audiobook. However, after the resolution, the story does seem to trail off a bit, having multiple endings and a lot of additional points, so setting up for the next book. I kind of feel like these parts could have been done without.

The characters were all really well thought-out and entertaining. Evie’s use of the phrase ‘pos-i-tute-ly’ would have really got on my nerves if I were reading the physical copy of the book, but it worked well in the audiobook format, highlighting her character. All the other characters were distinctive, not just through LaVoy’s vocal talents, but also as a result of Libba Bray’s excellent character development. Each had their own backstory, their own traits and their own personalities. I was slightly disappointed that Memphis, Theta and Mabel didn’t play as much of a role in the main story line, indeed Memphis hardly interacted with Evie at all, but I’m hoping that they will be more involved in the sequel.

I really enjoyed listening to ‘The Diviners’. It was a paranormal, mystery thriller that really made your spine tingle, and I will definitely be continuing the series when the next book is released (apparently in August – I’m counting the days).

Rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7728889-the-diviners

The Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Diviners-Libba-Bray/9781907410406/?a_aid=RosieNReads

Audible: http://www.audible.co.uk/pd/Young-Adults/The-Diviners-Audiobook/B0090ONIOC

One thought on “A Review of ‘The Diviners’ by Libba Bray

  1. Pingback: Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray – Review | Lost in a Daydream

Leave a Reply

