24 Hour Readathon: The End

24 hours are up and the readathon is over. I managed to read a total of 3 and a half books (the half was me finishing ‘City of Glass’, half of which had already been read).

So, to bring things to an end, here is the End of Event meme:

Which hour was most daunting for you?

The last hour was probably the most daunting for me, I was so close to finishing my fourth book that I was afraid I would not be able to finish it in time. Luckily I did, but it was a close one.

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

I would say try to read short books or graphic novels or something along those lines. It’s harder to stay interested in a book that’s long and quite daunting too. Also, changing up the genres and styles really helps to keep the interest.

Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

I think maybe make it a bit easier for readers to communicate with one another, I’m not sure how, but it would be nice to be able to see other people’s updates more easily.

What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

I really enjoyed having the blog to read at each hour. It helped keep me motivated and reminded me that other people were taking part. Since, as I was reading, it was quite difficult keeping track of social media etc.

How many books did you read?

I read 3 and a half books. Three of them were from start to finish, while the other one I had already started and was just finishing it off, although the part I did read was roughly the same length as the other books, if slightly shorter.

What were the names of the books you read?

I read: ‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ by Jay Asher, ‘Bright Young Things’ by Anna Godbersen, ‘Only Ever Yours’ by Louise O’Neill and ‘City of Glass’ by Cassandra Clare.

Which book did you enjoy most?

I probably enjoyed ‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ most. The other books were all really good, but I found this book to be quite unique and was really impressed with how well the characters’ voices were maintained.

Which did you enjoy least?

I enjoyed all the books, but I would probably have to say ‘Bright Young Things’ because I found it quite difficult to connect with the characters and I did read it when I was quite tired, which probably didn’t help.

If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?

I wasn’t a cheerleader. But after doing the readathon, I have to give them credit for being able to cheer people along while also trying to read as well.

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

I would definitely like to participate again. Being able to sit down and read was what I needed after a stressful week and I just really enjoyed it. I will probably be a reader again, but may consider being a cheerleader as well.

And that’s it. I had a great time doing the readathon and got to read some excellent books that I have been wanting to read for a while. Until next time!

4 thoughts on “24 Hour Readathon: The End

    • Wow, I’m impressed you managed to stay up that long. I couldn’t stay awake the whole 24 hours – I had an 8 hour sleep right in the middle of it, I was so tired by the end of my second book.

Leave a Reply

