Review of ‘Bright Young Things’

Nine hours in and I have completed my second book: ‘Bright Young Things’ by Anna Godbersen.

I found this book in a charity shop and, as a massive fan of ‘The Luxe’ series by the same author, I thought I would give it a try. It is set in the 20s which is another bonus. I absolutely love reading about the 20s era.

The ‘Bright Young Things’ follows three girls as they discover life in 20s New York. One searches for her father, one wants to be a star while one wants the perfect flapper lifestyle, but nothing comes easily for them.

I enjoyed the novel, it wasn’t perfect, but it was a good read in the evening – not too difficult and you could easily step into the world.

The main three characters were interesting, each very much their own person with their own voice. Unfortunately, I struggled to relate to them. Cordelia came across as very selfish, with little regard to others. Astrid, seemed solely pre-occupied with her love life. Letty was the only one I felt any connection too, yet her naivety was grating. Despite their flaws however, I really enjoyed going along with their stories. You get to see multiple sides of New York through their eyes and it was fascinating to read.

A couple parts of the story felt a little contrived, but otherwise the plot was enjoyable – full of scandal, aspirations, romance and even guns. It was very obviously a set up for a series, the ending seemed abruptly rounded off, with numerous plot lines left unanswered.

When I can, I will try to continue the series. I have high hopes for its future and I would really like to see where the girls’ stories take them.

Rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7719248-bright-young-things

The Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Bright-Young-Things-Anna-Godbersen/9780061962677/?a_aid=RosieNReads

Leave a Reply

