24 Hour Read-a-Thon: The Books

This weekend is the Dewey 24 hour Read-a-thon. The goal: Read as many books as you can in 24 hours.

I have a massive to-read pile, and this will be my chance to get through at least some of the books I have stocked up.

My personal challenge is to read three books. As I’m at university, I had to select the books from the supply of books that I have here, most of which are 300+ pages – not very good options for a 24 hour read-a-thon, if you ask me. However, on general, I can read a 300-400 page young adult book in about 3-5 hours, depending on my level of awake-ness. So with that in mind, my three selected books are all YA fiction of around that length. I also have a few books that I am currently reading, these I will try to finish prior to the event or will put on hold until afterwards (unless I cannot bring myself to do so, in which case I will just read them).

Readathon

My book selection for the read-a-thon are:

  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  • Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen
  • Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

As well as those three books, I also have a few back-up options if I need a break from YA, or if I somehow manage to read all those three books. For these, I tried to have a wide selection so that I could fit whatever my mood felt like reading.

Back-up2These back-up options are:

  • The Magician’s Guild by Trudi Canavan
  • All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher
  • Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy
  • Alice in Zombieland  by Gene Showalter

I’m very excited to get started. As soon as I finish a book, I will be updating my progress on both Goodreads, and this blog, with a brief review and rating. I am also going to be filming throughout the read-a-thon to create a summary/wrap up video for my YouTube channel and updating on Twitter, so there will be plenty of read-a-thon madness coming your way.

One thought on “24 Hour Read-a-Thon: The Books

  1. Pingback: 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: The Beginning | Lost in a Daydream

Leave a Reply

