A Quick Update on Life

What am I doing?

By the time this gets posted, I will be on my way to Centre Parcs. I’ve not been there for years and am very excited to go and have an actual mini-break. Even though I’m home from university, I’ve still got work on my brain so escaping that environment and having a proper holiday will be a relief. Not to mention it’s a holiday at Centre Parcs!

How am I feeling?

Ill. For the last week, I’ve had quite a bad flu and so have spent the last couple of days curled up in bed. My throat felt like daggers had been stuck through it, my head burned and my whole body ached. It did give me an excuse to drink a whole lot of tea though. Now, I’m still feeling ill, but I think I’m on the road to recovery. Fingers crossed it won’t get any worse.

What am I reading?

I am currently reading ‘Les Miserables’ by Victor Hugo which is probably the largest book I possess. I’m enjoying it so far, although Hugo does like going off on tangents. I’m updating my progress on it on twitter with the hashtag #readinglesmis, which is helping me to keep going. Long books are quite difficult to stay attached to.

I’m also listening to ‘Beauty Queens’ by Libba Bray on audiobook format. It’s quite an entertaining and light-hearted story (starkly different from Les Mis). Although, given that I read quite quickly, a book of that length generally takes about 3-4 hours, listening to it is taking so much longer, so I can’t really remember the start of the story that well. It is still quite relaxing to listen to, gives the eyes a break from reading.

What am I watching?

Television wise, I’m currently watching ‘Once Upon a Time’ and ‘Pretty Little Liars’, both of which are shows I can switch off to and just enjoy without too much thought which is great when you’re not feeling well. When I’m feeling a bit better, I will hopefully be catching up on ‘Agents of Shield’ and ‘Agent Carter’, both of which I have fallen drastically behind on.

As for movies, the last movie I watched was Forrest Gump, curled up on the sofa while having lunch, and before that – Hunchback of Notre Dame (the Disney film). I fell asleep during the latter one though, I was just too tired for my own good. Oh well, it just gives me an excuse to watch the film again.

Plans for the near future?

After Centre Parcs, I will be heading back to university, where I will be seeing my boyfriend (good) and working on my dissertation (not so good). I am also hoping to make more progress on editing my novel and maybe getting back into running, given that one of my resolutions for this year was to run 5k. That is currently not happening. I think that’s a reasonable amount to be getting on with for now, given how much work the dissertation is going to be.

That’s it for my quick update on life, I hope you enjoyed it. I may do more of these in the future, they’re quite fun and easy to do.

Leave a Reply

