The Divine + The Wicked: My First Graphic Novel Review

This was my first venture into reading a graphic novel and I couldn’t be more impressed. The story concept is interesting and the artwork was fantastic.

The Faust act is a collected edition of the first five comics, and so it felt like a proper story or the first act in a play, since there was a cliff hanger right at the end. The central premise is that every ninety years, 12 gods get reincarnated. However, after two years, they die. I really love reading twists on myths and legends, and this wa This was my first venture into reading a graphic novel and I couldn’t be more impressed. The story concept is interesting and the artwork was fantastic.

The Faust act is a collected edition of the first five issues, and so it felt like a proper story or the first act in a play, since there was a cliff hanger right at the end. The central premise is that every ninety years, 12 gods get reincarnated. However, after two years, they die. I really love reading twists on myths and legends, and this was no different. While I would have loved to see more of the gods in their past lives, it was interesting to see how they were reimagined in this day and age. I did have an issue with the fact that they were all pop stars, that did feel a little contrived to me. It would have been fun to see them in different jobs, but with one of their themes being inspiration, it does make some sense.

Each of the characters were well though out with plenty of diversity that did not feel forced in any way. Even in the short space of the graphic novel, I felt I could recognise some of the characters quite easily. The main character, Laura, was relatable although her infatuation with the gods was a little hard to grasp, as was how easily she fit herself into their fold.

All in all, I really enjoyed The Wicked + The Divine. It was fun reading a different type of story, away from the traditional novel, and I will definitely by trying out some more in the near future.

Rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23093359-the-wicked-the-divine-vol-1?from_search=true

Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wicked-Divine-1-Kieron-Gillen/dp/1632150190/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1423418379&sr=8-1&keywords=the+wicked+%2B+the+divine

Leave a Reply

