TBR Jar Challenge: Read a New-to-You Author

Last month, I pulled out the challenge to read a new-to-you author from my TBR Jar (which is filled with various reading challenges). Since then, I have read a number of authors that I have not read before, from Emma Healey (‘Elizabeth is Missing’) to Kurt Vonnegut (‘Slaughterhouse 5’). However, the book I read specifically for the challenge was ‘The Girl with all the Gifts’ by M.R. Carey. This book is on my list of the 15 books to read in 2015 and was one I knew next to nothing about, so it seemed perfect for the challenge.

I did do a video review for this book, which you can find here, however, I will also sum up my thoughts and feelings on it below,

I really enjoyed ‘The Girl with all the Gifts’. It was a story about a popular concept, but with a twist on the tale that I had not seen before. This made it a fascinating read, and also quite exciting. The plot itself is, admittedly, not the best in the world. I have come across many similar plots in the past. But, while it may not be the best, it is one that keeps you hooked. This is also due, in part, to the characters, who take centre stage. There are five characters that you actually spend any time with – so highlighting the situation that they have found themselves in. The small cast allows you to get to know each of the characters so well, from their interactions with one another to their inner-most thoughts that you discover in reading their respective POV chapters. The main (and title) character, Melanie, is fantastic. You can’t help but love her from the start.

If you do get the chance, I highly recommend reading this book. But try and go in it without knowing much in advance. Part of the reason I liked it so much as because I had no idea what to expect so when I discovered what the story was actually about, it made me enjoy it so much more

I gave this book a 4.5/5 rating.

You can find more review/ratings of this book at goodreads, and can buy it from The Book Depository (I get a small commission if you follow this link) and amazon.

My Next Challenge: Listen to an Audiobook

Leave a Reply

