The TBR Jar

TBRJAr

I love books. I love buying them and I love reading them. Unfortunately, I have a lot more books than I am able to read, and my to-read pile is so big that it becomes an effort just trying to choose which book to read next. Luckily, I found a solution: The TBR Jar.

The concept behind a TBR jar is to fill up a jar with titles of books you want to read and then each time you finish a book, you fish out a title from the jar and that is the next book you will read. This in itself is a fabulous idea, however, for me, it would not work quite that well. My to-read pile is in two different places, on opposite sides of the country, and I don’t really like being told what to read. I base my book choices on how I’m feeling and what I’m in the mood for.

A few days ago, I came across a video by Katytastic – ‘TBR Jar Challenge 2015’ which seemed to be just what I was looking for. In the video, the TBR Jar is not filled up with book titles, no. Instead, it is filled with a section of book-related challenges. These challenges allow for a certain leniency in book choice, but it also makes choosing a book to read a lot more fun, and a lot easier.

Using the 12 challenges from the video, as well as four of my own to make it that little bit more exciting as to what I’m going to pull out (the more challenges the merrier!), I set about making my own TBR jar. With no jar to use, I decided to use a small, empty box that I was using to decorate my bookcase, and filled that up with the challenges instead. Each time I complete a challenge, my plan is to make a video of my own about the challenge and the book I read, giving myself another ‘mission’ to accomplish before I can start the next one.

And now, with the new year in full swing, it is time to pull out my first challenge…

Drum Roll Please!

My first challenge of 2015 is: Read a Classic Novel

Seems suitable. I have a few books in mind for this, but I think you’ll just have to wait and find out which one I choose.

Until next time,

Rosie

 

2 thoughts on “The TBR Jar

  1. Pingback: TBR Jar Challenge: Read A Classical Novel | Lost in a Daydream

  2. Pingback: TBR Jar Challenge: Read a Book and Watch its Adaption | Lost in a Daydream

Leave a Reply

