YouTube – My First Steps

On Wednesday, I revealed that one of my holiday projects for the winter holidays was to set up a YouTube channel. That is exactly what I have done. And let me tell you, it is an incredibly nerve-wrecking experience.

I am a naturally shy person – I don’t like the idea of making a fool of myself, and I am not a great talker. With all this, standing in front of a camera, basically talking to myself, was bizarre. Somehow, I succeeded. I created a video and even plucked up the courage to put it on the internet.

Like this blog, my channel will primarily be about writing and reading. There will be book reviews, readings of things I’ve written and videos of me discussing both books and writing. There will also be other videos to add a bit more variety. I have a notebook full of ideas of what to make videos about and, hopefully, I will start making them soon.

One thing I have learnt over the years, with my many projects, is to pace myself. So, my rough plan is to try and upload two a week during the holidays (this may get a little lax next week as it is Christmas) and then aim for one a week once I am back at university.

I’m looking forward to seeing where it all goes. Making the first few videos were quite fun, so I can only imagine that it is uphill from here.

For those who are wondering, my new YouTube channel is: https://www.youtube.com/user/razka13. Subscribe if you would like to, but if not, I won’t mind (less embarrassing for me if I make a complete mess of things!).

See you on Monday!

Leave a comment