Seven Deadly Sins: Book Tag

On one of my many YouTube trawls, I came across this video by Kristina Horner – the Seven Deadly Sins Book Tag. And, even though I don’t have a YouTube account (something which may change in the future, who knows?), I thought I’d have a go at it myself. So here I go:

GREED

What is your most expensive book? What is your least expensive book?

This is a tricky question, my more expensive books tend to be gifts, so I am not entirely sure which would be the most expensive (or even if they count). But, after a quick browse of my bookshelves, I would have to say ‘Harry Potter: Page to Screen’ is probably my most expensive one, coming into around £50. My least expensive book is a lot easier. Over the summer, I worked at a publishing house for a few weeks and they had a ‘pulp shelf’ where you could take home books that were no longer needed and could not be sold. I got about 10 books for free as a result. Those count right?

WRATH

What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Wow… I’m not entirely sure how to answer this one. I don’t think I have had a love/hate relationship with an author. I tend to focus more on the book than who writes it. If I had to answer, it would probably be George R. R. Martin. I love the Game of Thrones series, but the books are long so they do take a while to get through and he takes so long to write them! I’ve been waiting for ‘The Winds of Winter’ for years now.

GLUTTONY

What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

Easy. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. I have lost count of the number of times I have read those books, they were my childhood series and I love them so much that they are now more of a comfort read than anything else. I used to always be rereading books, but now, with as little time as I have to read, I’ve mainly been focusing on reading the books on my to-read pile. So, I imagine that Harry Potter will remain as my most re-read books for a long time yet

SLOTH

What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

Many books fall into this category, but that’s more really due to time restraints than laziness. If you only refer to laziness, then the two main ones are Dante’s ‘Divine Comedy’ and Hugo’s ‘Les Miserables’. They are both so long!. ‘Divine Comedy’ is also an epic poem which looks very difficult to read, another reason why I’m putting off reading it. I should get around to the two of them at some point, since they’re ones that I do want to read, but I will need to prepare myself for it.

PRIDE

What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

Hamlet. After spending much of my school life learning Shakespeare, I came to believe that if you knew Shakespeare you were an ‘intellectual’. My favourite Shakespeare play has always been Hamlet and I spent a term studying it at school. So, if I need to sound intellectual about books, I would mention Hamlet. Or at least quote some Shakespeare.

LUST

What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

With books, you rely much more on your imagination than on visual input so I’ve found attractiveness to be based a lot more on the characters’ personalities and actions more than their actual appearance. I think it would definitely be a kind of anti-hero character, maybe dark and moody with a bit of a soft spot inside them as well. Either that or a joker with a dark side, or past. Someone with layers and two sides to them. I find the mystery and a spot of unpredictability attractive in book characters.

ENVY

What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

Talk about difficult. Any book would be appreciated – I love receiving books as presents. I just love having books. At the moment it would probably be ‘The Time Traveller’s Almanac’ because that just seems amazing, but it a bit too expensive for me to get for myself. But this one basically changes every time I go into a bookshop.

Well, that is it. I hope you enjoyed reading my answers to the Seven Deadly Sins Book Tag. I certainly enjoyed answering them. If you want to have a go, please do. You can find the original video by BookishlyMalyza here.

Leave a Reply

