You’re the One that I Want – Review

Imagine you had two best friends, both of them completely in love with you. After being in a relationship with one for many years, you discover that you also have feelings for the other and a choice is presented before you. Which best friend do you pick? This is the dilemma Maddy finds herself in in Giovanna Fletcher’s ‘You’re the One that I Want’.

The book is written from the point of view of two members of the trio of three – Maddy and Ben as they battle with  their feelings from the moment the trio meet until Maddy’s wedding. Picking out important years and moments, such as heading towards university and a school trip to Paris, Fletcher manages to tell the tale at a pleasant pace that builds up each of the characters, showing how each event affects them, but also making sure it feels like nothing is missing from those missed out years.

I picked up this book because I thought it would be an easy, effortless read in the midst of my literature review which required more complicated reading. It suited the purpose well. I found myself relaxing as I read it and getting into the story. While I would have liked to read more from Robert’s (the other best friend) point of view, I found the focus on Maddy and Ben to be enjoyable and, apart from a few aspects that seemed a little odd to me, the story was realistic with heart-warming and heart-breaking sections throughout.

I would recommend reading this book if you want a book that you can relax into. It is a romantic story of love, friendship and weighty choices that carry consequences for everyone.

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

