A Wizard from Earthsea – Review

For the last few weeks I have been lax with my blog posts; this has been because I have been busy working on my literature review for my degree. Now though, I am able to take a breather and get back on the posts, writing and reading I have missed, before returning to my work with fresh eyes.

A few days ago, the science fiction author Ursula K. Le Guin received the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters and, coincidently, a few days before that, I started reading her Earthsea series. This morning, I finished the first book: ‘A Wizard from Earthsea’.

It was a really good book. If I had the time, it would have been one that I would not have put down. Instead, I was forced to read only a chapter a day. Luckily for me, ‘A Wizard from Earthsea’ is written in such a way that it can be dipped in and out of – reading a chapter at a time, or all at once. It is a book that entertains and keeps you hooked, but allows for you to step out when necessary.

The story follows that of Ged, a boy who is training to become a wizard that must come face to face with his Shadow. It reads like a history, with a pacing that moves the story forward at a considerable rate, focusing only on the action, adventure, and brief pauses of Ged’s story that will interest the reader. The character development is realistic, and the characters are interesting. While Ged did irk me towards the start, I ended up sympathising with him towards the end.

I really enjoyed reading it, and look forward to the next book in the series. It certainly made an enjoyable, escapist break from work. The writing was fantastic and Le Guin certainly deserved her award.

Rating: 4.5/5

 

 

One thought on “A Wizard from Earthsea – Review

Leave a Reply

