The One Plus One

‘The One Plus One’ by Jojo Moyes is not a book I would have picked off the shelf normally, yet I enjoyed it tremendously. I chose to read it simply because I wanted to try something a bit different to what I usually read, something normal without weird occurrences and magic powers. ‘The One Plus One’ is about normal people dealing with situations and circumstances that real people do face. More than that, it is heart-warming with characters that speak out to you, that make you care.

This book hit the top of the bestseller list, and it is not hard to see why. The chapters vary on points of view, giving the readers an insight into each of the characters and how they view and react to various situations. This helps bring you into the fold, and really makes you feel like part of the family. The character that really stood out for me was Nicky, closely followed  by his younger sister Tanzie. For me, the two children (and the dog) really made the story, despite it being about Jess and Ed. The character development of all the characters was certainly well done.

‘The One Plus One’ is not without its faults, however. It got a bit slow in places, and I found the section with Marty a little odd. While I understand that that plotline needed to be resolved, I felt it could have been done a bit better. Ed could have been a bit more rounded as well, at times he just fell flat and the chemistry between him and Jess was hard to spot. Despite it all, I really enjoyed reading it. It is relaxing, emotive, and great for travel and summer reading.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

