Day out in Scarborough

To celebrate the end of my second year at university, my housemates and I decided to leave the vicinity of York, our university city, and explore the area around it. Our sights were set on Scarborough.

The perfect place to spend a day, Scarborough’s main attractions were all within walking distance (although a bus may be recommended if you are not into walking). If you time your trip right, all are fairly empty as well – no crowds to ruin the day.

SAM_2432

 

We went on a day that was not particularly sunny, and since two of Scarborough main features happen to be beaches, it was practically deserted. After alighting from the train (a short trip from York), we picked up a map from the map dispenser and headed out to the first of the two beaches, all set for a coastal walk up to the castle. A walk which culminated in a rather steep hill (it made the view from the top well worth it though).

SAM_2397

The castle was stunning, ruins standing tall against the horizon. The grounds were quite large with little areas to see as you walked around (an underground chapel being one of these). A small café in the castle’s shadow provided us with a lunch to sustain us for the rest of the day; it had a mixture of yummy food – something for everyone to eat.

SAM_2395

Upon leaving the castle, we stopped by the graveyard to visit Anne Bronte’s grave (one of those famous sisters), and walked down the second beach to our final stop: the Sea Life Centre. Unfortunately we missed out on the mini golf because we got there just before final entry, but it was fantastic having the centre practically to ourselves. There was a wide variety of animals – otters, jellyfish, penguins, seals, and the building was well designed for the purpose.

SAM_2533

I really enjoyed the trip, and so did my housemates. It was relaxing and entertaining and a fantastic way to end the year. It will be a hard trip to top.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Day out in Scarborough

  1. Hey! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog such as yours require a large amount of work?
    I am brand new to operating a blog but I do
    write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

    • Hi!
      To be honest, the amount of work varies a lot on what else I’m doing. I tend to write a lot of posts in advance and schedule them which takes the pressure off of posting on time. It is a lot like writing a diary (I have one of those too.), and you don’t have to write that much.
      The main advice I have to give is to keep at it and set yourself a day or two a week to post on so that you get into a regular habit. Maybe come up with some regular segments as well, that way you are not always pushing for ideas 🙂
      I hope you set up a blog. It’s a lot of fun!

  2. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later.
    All the best

Leave a Reply

