‘Quiet’ Review

As an introvert, I find it quite hard to live up to the expectations of today’s society. Constant social interaction both scares me and wears me out. I get intense stage-fright before any kind of presentation, even in front of a small group. Group work is a phrase I hate to hear. All of this adds up to me dreading life in the ‘adult world’ – finding a job, and having to deal with all the social behaviour that comes with it.

‘Quiet’ is a book that looks at just that. It explores introversion in an extravert’s world, and by the end of it, I was feeling a lot better about the world that awaits me. There is something special about discovering someone else is going through, or has gone through, the same things as you. The author of the book, Susan Cain, is an introvert and within its pages are interviews with and stories of many other introverts. All of whom have come to thrive in unexpected environments.

I study psychology, and will be looking at introversion/extraversion for my third year project, so I found this book incredibly interesting and useful. It gives a clear picture of the differences between introversion and extraversion, finding benefits and problems with both. It gives examples of how to overcome those problems and make the benefits worth their while, while looking at the traits from multiple perspectives – childhood, neuroscience, business. It is written in a style that is readable by both the every-day reader and the professional.

All in all, I would highly recommend ‘Quiet’. Even if you are an extravert, this book is incredibly beneficial, interesting and, dare I say it, fun to read.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

