Challenging Myself in 2014

My writing has been fairly stagnated for a while now. It has been a struggle finding time to do it and, when I have found time, knowing what to write. The same goes for the editing of my novel – I just can’t seem to get into it. As a result, hardly any improvements have been made. It’s disappointing.

So, to turn around this slump and get back into the writing process, I have set myself a challenge. I know, I know, another challenge. But, at the moment, they seem to be the only way for me to get things done. This is no small challenge either. Over the course of the year, I am going to write 12 short stories. One a month. At the end of each month, my plan is to self-publish the story as an e-book. This means that in around 30 days, I will have to plan, write, edit and publish a story that I am proud of. I don’t want to rush one out at the end of the month that is sub-par, that I am not proud of.

Not only will this challenge force me into a writing routine, and help me enter the writing state of mind, it also lets me practice and improve in all areas of the writing process. If I do manage to sell any, I will probably not be able to sleep for a week with all the excitement. As well as that, any reviews/sales I get will provide me with invaluable feedback to just get better. Win-Win, if you ask me.

I am looking forward to it.

So, to kick this challenge off, my first short story of 2014 will be released on Friday (if I get the timing right). See you then!

Rosie

Leave a Reply

