Nanowrimo – It’s Game On.

I have just completed my first week of proper university lectures. Not to say that last year’s lectures didn’t count, but as a second year, this stuff actually counts. This is the year that everything goes towards your degree. Fresher-me had it lucky. Now the stress levels have taken a step up and my work load has doubled.

Of course, being me, that is not enough. No. This year I have also signed up for a correspondence course in proofreading, and I am taking on the Goliath that is Nanowrimo. Over summer I entered camp, but that was just the warm up. In order to reach 50,000 words this November, I am going to have to pull out all the stops. Time management, deadlines, rewards. All are going to have to be taken into account. It’s going to be a rollercoaster. Let’s hope it’s a fun one.

This month, in jolly old October, I’ve been plotting. I’ve been planning. I’ve been doing things a little bit differently. Normally, when I’ve entered Nanowrimo before, I’ve cheated slightly. I’ve had a set idea growing in the back of my mind that I’ve planned for ages beforehand. I’ve even had short passages already written. But that is behind me. I bought ‘Ready, Set, Novel’ and, from the beginning of October, I’ve been using it to brainstorm a completely new novel idea. It’s worked a charm. The nanoprep has had lift-off.

That does not mean to say I’ve been neglecting my Camp Nanowrimo novel. As if I could ever do that. Slowly but surely, I’ve been churning through that, trying to edit to the best of my abilities, but are very much lacking. I’m hoping, once I’ve settled back into university life, the pace will pick up a bit. I really want a finished novel.

Updates shall appear over the next few weeks, on both of this year’s novels. In the meantime, enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Rosie

Leave a Reply

