One Artist, One Album, One Song

It has been a while since I have talked about my writing, or something relating to it, so today I have decided to amend that. When I’m writing I find music helps tremendously when I’m trying to get into a certain emotion or state of mind. Here I thought I would reveal what music helps me the most by selecting an artist, an album and a song which I like to have on while I write.

Artist: Within Temptation

This was the easiest one to choose. Within Temptation are my favourite band, and their music is fantastic. It is great for daydreaming and writing alike. There are so many themes and emotions in their songs that each listening session can uncover something new. Sometimes, when I’m stuck for ideas, I’ll just put one of their CDs in and let my mind wander. A number of my story ideas have been generating this way.

Album: A Strange Case of… by Halestorm

This was essentially the backing track to my entire Camp Nanowrimo novel. I really don’t know how many times I’ve listened to it, but it really helps me switch off from day to day life and get down into the world of storytelling. Some songs on the album are better than others, but that is always the case. Either way I write so much more with this album in the background than without it. I don’t know why it works so well, but it does.

Song: Hellfire from ‘The Hunchback of Notre-Dame’

This was the hardest one to choose, there are so many to pick from. In the end, after intense contemplation, I had to go with Hellfire. This song just gives me the chills. I could probably listen to it on repeat for ages. The reason I’ve put it here is because in this one song it tells you everything you need to know about the villain, from his motives to his beliefs. Frollo becomes a 3D character in less than four minutes. For me it is the perfect villain song, and I try to listen to it whenever I need to get into a more villainous mind-set.

That’s it for my current writing music. Soundtracks and other artist also feature a lot, but these are the main ones at the moment. I hope you enjoyed. Now I should probably get back to my writing if I’m to actually to get any of it done.

Rosie

Leave a Reply

