My Weekend Challenge

One major problem I think writers face, or at least I face, is the reactions of other people around them. To them, writing is more of a fun hobby, if that. For instance, if you are an athlete, people are enthusiastic about what you do, asking you questions about training and events. Whereas, for writers, they just don’t seem to care as much. Very rarely does one get asked questions on how your writing is going; or when you say you are a writer, the general response is ‘that’s nice dear’ followed by a rather abrupt change of topic.

So, it seems to me, that the only way to prove your writing is not just some side hobby that you will lose interest in before moving onto something worthwhile is to rise above their upturned noses and succeed in doing what you love. Whether that be finishing a novel, publishing your work or winning a competition, it will show those who don’t understand how important writing is to you.

With that in mind, I have set myself a challenge. By midnight on Sunday, my goal is to have written a minimum of 10,000 words for my novel, so bringing it closer to completion. To some this may seem like a small amount, to others quite large. For me, I think it is doable. My average per day is around 2000 words, so over the next three days that would be a total of 6000 words. I just have to write 4000 words more than I usually do to complete it. Feel free to join in with the challenge as well, we can battle on through together. Pen to the ready, get set and go.

Rosie

Leave a Reply

